The Awakening and Selected Short Stories by Kate Chopin

The Awakening and Selected Short Stories Book download in PDF, ePub & Mobi

by Kate Chopin

The Awakening is a novel written by Kate Chopin and first published in 1899.

Set in the late 19th century, the story takes place between New Orleans and the southern coast of Louisiana. Edna Pontellier is a woman struggling to reconcile her views on femininity and motherhood, which are increasingly alienated from the social attitudes of the time.

The novel mixes realistic narrative with social commentary which makes it one of the forerunners of modernism. It was also one of the most important novels written by an American woman in the 19th century.

Selected short stories:
  • Beyond the bayou
  • Ma'ame pelagie
  • Desiree's baby
  • A respectable womanv
  • The kiss
  • A pair of silk stockings
  • The locketv
  • A reflection

Fiction   Short Stories

5 hours 21 minutes (64365 words)

About this book

The The Awakening and Selected Short Stories book is available for download in PDF, ePUB and Mobi

Date added: 02-17-2021

Total views: 1352

Total downloads: 768

Included in collections:

Inspiring female writers

Share this book

About Kate Chopin

Kate Chopin was an American author of short stories and novels based in Louisiana. She is considered by scholars to have been a forerunner of America...

We have 1 books by Kate Chopin in Alice and Books library

View author

You may like...