Pulitzer Prize Winning Novels

8 books


The Pulitzer Prize for Fiction is one of seven categories of American Pulitzer permits. It highlights a work of fiction published in the previous year by an American author, preferably about the United States.

The first Pulitzer Prize for Novel was awarded in 1918. Below we leave you the award-winning books published in AliceAndBooks that are in public domain:

1918: His Family

Ernest Poole (1880–1950) and published by Macmillan (1917)

Download His Family

1919: The Magnificent Ambersons

Booth Tarkington (1869–1949) and published by Doubleday, Page & Co. (1918)

Download The Magnificent Ambersons

1920: Not awarded

The prize was not awarded in 1920. Initially, Joseph Hergesheimer was thought of, for his book Java Head, but it was decided that he did not meet the "wholesome" criteria.

1921: The Age of Innocence

Edith Wharton (1862–1937) and published by D. Appleton & Company (1920)

Download The Age of Innocence

1922: Alice Adams

Booth Tarkington (1869–1949) and published by Doubleday, Page & Co. (1921)

Download Alice Adams

1923: One of Ours

Willa Cather (1873–1947) and published by Alfred A. Knopf (1922)

Download One of Ours

1924: The Able McLaughlins

Margaret Wilson (1882–1973) and published by Harper & Brothers (1923)

Download The Able McLaughlins

1925: So Big

Edna Ferber (1885–1968) and published by Grosset & Dunlap (1924)

Download So Big

1926: Arrowsmith

Sinclair Lewis (1885–1951) and published by Harcourt Brace & Co. (1925)

Download Arrowsmith

Complete list of Pulitzer Prize-winning books in PDF and ePUB

Did you like this book collection? Share it!